Achieving Excellence With Quality Care

Quality Awards and Accreditations

UHS facilities are dedicated to delivering quality care. This is reflected in the numerous awards and honors received for excellence in multiple specialties:

  • Leapfrog Spring 2020 Hospital Safety GradeIn spring 2020, nine UHS Acute Care hospitals earned an “A” safety grade from The Leapfrog Group, recognizing our commitment to protecting patients from harm and to meeting the highest safety standards. They included: Aiken Regional Medical Centers (S.C.), Henderson Hospital (Nev.), Northern Nevada Medical Center (Nev.), South Texas Health System Edinburg (Texas), South Texas Health System Heart (Texas), South Texas Health System McAllen (Texas), St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center (Okla.), Temecula Valley Hospital (Calif.) and Texoma Medical Center (Texas).
  • In 2019, Henderson Hospital and Northern Nevada Medical Center were named Top General Hospitals by the Leapfrog Group, and Aiken Regional Medical Centers was named a Top Teaching Hospital.
  • U.S. News and World Report Best Regional Hospitals Washington, D.C. 2019-2020U.S. News & World Report recognized The George Washington University Hospital as a Best Regional Hospital, ranking it among the top 10 percent of hospitals in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area.

Our Acute Care hospitals have also attained the following quality awards and recognitions in the past three years:

Patient Safety

  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Five-Star Medicare Hospital Compare Rating, the highest rating for quality from this organization
  • Healthgrades® Patient Safety Excellence Award™ recognizing hospitals in the top 10 percent in the nation for patient safety
  • Women’s Choice Award for America’s Best Hospitals in Patient Safety
  • Premier’s Hospital Improvement Innovation Network Award for excelling in patient safety


  • Healthgrades® America’s 50 Best Hospitals for Cardiac Surgery and America’s 100 Best Hospitals for Cardiac Care and General Surgery
  • The Joint Commission and the American Heart Association®/American Stroke Association® Comprehensive Stroke Center (only four percent of U.S. hospitals)
  • American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Get With The Guidelines® Target: Stroke Honor Roll Elite Plus Gold Plus Stroke Quality Achievement Award
  • American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Heart-Check mark for Advanced Primary Stroke Center Certification
  • American Heart Association Mission: Lifeline® Gold Receiving Quality Achievement Award
  • American College of Cardiology’s National Cardiology Data Registry (NCDR) ACTION Registry Platinum Performance Achievement Award, an honor only given to 203 U.S. hospitals
  • Women’s Choice Award for America’s Best Stroke Centers


  • Commission on Cancer Accreditation with Commendation
  • Lung Cancer Alliance’s Screening Center of Excellence


  • The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval for Total Hip and Total Knee Replacement
  • Blue Distinction Center Designation from Blue Cross® Blue Shield® – Knee and Hip Replacement
  • Blue Distinction Center+ Designation from Blue Cross Blue Shield – Knee and Hip Replacement

Women’s Health

  • World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFH), a global program recognizing hospitals that offer an optimal level of care for infant feeding and mother/baby bonding
  • International Board of Lactation Consultant Association® Examiner’s Award of Excellence in lactation
  • Blue Distinction Center Designation from Blue Cross Blue Shield – Maternity Care
  • Blue Distinction Center Designation+ from Blue Cross Blue Shield – Maternity Care

Other Therapy Classes

  • National Hospital Organ Donation Campaign Award
  • Healogics®, Center of the Year and President’s Circle Center of Excellence for Wound Care
  • Blue Distinction Center Designation – Bariatric Surgery
  • Blue Distinction Center+ Designation – Bariatric Surgery
  • Blue Distinction Center Designation – Spine Surgery1

Learn more about Quality at UHS →

1 This facility indicated voluntarily that Radiologists, Anesthesiologists, Pathologists, Hospitalists and Intensivists who provide services for elective (scheduled) procedures related to this Blue Distinction Specialty Care program are in the local Plan's Blue Card PPO network.